Chicago Bulls announce the creation of a Ring of Honor and will celebrate the inaugural 13-person class in January

posted in: News | 0

Michael Jordan, Phil Jackson and 11 other legendary Chicago Bulls players, coaches and executives will be honored in January as the team celebrates its history with the creation of a Ring of Honor.

The Bulls announced the inaugural class Tuesday. In addition to Jordan and Jackson, it includes Artis Gilmore, Johnny “Red” Kerr, Dick Klein, Jerry Krause, Toni Kukoč, Bob Love, Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman, Jerry Sloan, Chet Walker and Tex Winter.

The entire 1995-96 team — which went 72-10 on its way to the NBA championship, the Bulls’ fourth of six titles in an eight-year span — also will be inducted into the Ring of Honor. That includes players Jordan, Kukoč, Pippen, Rodman, Randy Brown, Jud Buechler, Jason Caffey, James Edwards, Jack Haley, Ron Harper, Steve Kerr, Luc Longley, John Salley, Dickey Simpkins and Bill Wennington; coaches Jackson, Winter, Jim Cleamons, Erik Helland, John Paxson and Jimmy Rodgers; and front-office members Krause, Ivica Dukan, Clarence Gaines Jr., John Ligmanowski, Chip Schaefer, Jim Stack and Al Vermeil.

The inaugural class will be celebrated at a private gala at the United Center on Jan. 11 and during halftime of the Jan. 12 game against the Golden State Warriors. The team will have Ring of Honor memorabilia and other experiences in the UC atrium from Jan. 10 to 12.

“The Chicago Bulls Ring of Honor will be a first-of-its-kind celebration honoring many of the legends who have helped shape our organization over the past 57 years,” Bulls President and CEO Michael Reinsdorf said in a statement. “They have deep connections to our fans and community and represent a spirit of competition, hard work and toughness. This January, we look forward to cementing their legacy in Bulls history and inspiring the future of our organization.”

The Bulls will add to the Ring of Honor every two years. Each class will include a group of individuals and a team. Future player honorees must be retired for at least three years and must have played at least three seasons with the Bulls.

Every player selected to the inaugural class either is in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame or has had his jersey retired by the Bulls.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.